← All schools

southbound — howard.md
Spring 2027 · #148 of 150

Howard University

Withdraw and reapplyReasons: Not stated
48BRB
What we could find, not finalRules differ by college and by student, and can change. Confirm with your registrar, dean’s office, financial aid office and (for visa holders) international student office before you act. For tuition, refund and financial-aid deadlines, ask your bursar and financial aid office.
Heads upHoward’s own pages disagree on whether undergraduates can take a leave. Ask the Registrar before you plan anything.
in their words — from the school’s own pages
In their words

What Howard says

Exact quotes from Howard’s official pages, checked word for word on Oct 22, 2026.

How to step away

Effective for Fall 2024 and beyond, students who wish to withdraw from all their courses but intend to return to the University should submit a leave of absence request in BisonHub.

— howard.edu ↗
How long you can be away

A Former Student Returning (FSR) is defined as a student who was pursuing a degree at Howard University, who has not been registered at the University for one semester or more.

— admission.howard.edu ↗
Coming back

Students seeking readmission must submit the Undergraduate Returning Student Application no less than 30 days prior to the start of the semester to which they are seeking readmission.

— admission.howard.edu ↗
When to ask

There is no leave of absence process for undergraduate students.

— cea.howard.edu ↗
Reasons accepted

students who wish to withdraw from all their courses but intend to return to the University should submit a leave of absence request in BisonHub.

— howard.edu ↗
summary — ai
✦ AI summary

Written by AI from the quotes and pages we read. It may be incomplete or wrong; the school’s own pages win.

  • Stepping away looks like a BisonHub leave request, or not registering and returning as a Former Student.
  • Return applications appear due about 30 days before the term, with a Dec 10 spring date listed.
  • Public pages conflict on whether undergraduate leave exists, so confirm with the Registrar and your dean.
  • Reasons accepted: not stated (No reasons listed; one college page says undergraduates have no leave process).
  • Time away allowed: Any term off = reapply.
  • What to file: application to come back.
  • Classes start Jan 11.
checklist — before you decide

Before you decide

Check on the following…

  • Will my spot be held?Check how long your school keeps your place and whether you have to apply to come back.Ask: Registrar
  • Will I graduate later?A term off can push back your graduation. Ask which required classes only run in the spring.Ask: Academic advisor
  • Is there a deadline to ask?Some schools want your leave request before January. Find out the exact date and the form.Ask: Dean’s office or registrar
  • What happens to my scholarships and aid?Ask whether your scholarships and grants pause while you’re away or end, and what you need to do to get them back.Ask: Financial aid office
  • When would I have to start repaying loans?Student loans usually stop being deferred when you’re not enrolled. After a short grace period, often six months, payments can start.Ask: Financial aid office
  • Will I still have health insurance?A student health plan usually needs you to be enrolled. Make sure you’re covered from January to April.Ask: Student health office
  • What about my housing?Ask whether you can leave your housing contract without a penalty and whether you’ll get housing when you come back.Ask: Housing office
  • I’m on a student visa. Does this affect it?For F-1 students, not enrolling usually ends your visa status. Talk to this office before anything else.Ask: International student office
campus — 5 builder groups

Hackathon

  • BisonHacks ↗Howard's 24-hour hackathon run by the School of Business Center for Digital Business; 2026 edition held Feb 21-22.

Student founder community

Entrepreneurship center

Hard-tech team

CS club

index — score breakdown
BRB Score

Why 48

Leave route10/35
Time to decide20/20
Reasons accepted6/15
Published clearly3/15
Pages kept current5/5
Builder scene4/10

How the BRB Score works

apply
sources — official pages we read
Checked by Focal
Oct 22, 2026
Source pages
Current
Newest source change
Oct 2026
Oldest source change
May 2026

What we could find (checked Oct 22, 2026). Not final: confirm dates and aid with your school before you act. Source pages look current for 2026–27. We date pages from server timestamps, page metadata, “last updated” text, PDF dates and the Wayback Machine.